GGL Chapter


Updated Oct 14, 2022

Back to Home Page

Home > Profile

Luke H. Chatman

for African-American Males

The Chapter has for twenty-six years coordinated and given the Luke H. Chatman Memorial Scholarship which last year gave three $4,000.00 scholarship ($1,000 for four years), and has given more than $89,000 in scholarships to worthy local high school students.

This year's scholarship deadline is Learn more about this year's scholarship

April 1, 2023

Download 2023 Application

In 2003, the chapter changed the scholarship award to one $4,000.00 scholarship, $1,000 per year for four years. This new direction is new effort to encourage throughout their college career. Funding for the scholarship is collected from the proceeds of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Gala. Gamma Gamma Lambda Chapter has also changed the primary focus of the scholarship to prefer African-American Males.

These scholarships are based on the whole person concept, which encompasses academic achievement, leadership, citizenship, athletics and service to the community. Also, an applicant's financial need will be considered in the selection of the scholarships. As started in 2004, the scholarship application requires two letters of reference from the community.

2022's winner

  • Blake A. Sands (Mauldin High School,
    attending University of South Carolina)

2021's winner

  • Channin Anias Griffith (Legacy Charter High School,

attending Morehouse College)

2020's winner

  • Tyler Andrew Alexander (Southside High School,

attending North Carolina A&T University)


2019's winner

  • Elijah Jabari Neal
    (planing to attend University of South Carolina)
2018's winner
  • Mckenna Alexandra Johnson
    (attending Mercer University)
2017's winners
  • Kai Alexander Standifer
    (attending University of South Carolina)

  • Jared Dakota Dawson
    (attending University of South Carolina)

2015's winner:

  • Emanuel Jackson
    (attending Lenoir Rhyne University)

2014's winner:

  • James Everett Tillman, II
    (attending Clemson University)

2013's winner:

  • Roland A. Pratt ( attended Clemson University)


2012's winner:

  • Mayanna Pearson (attended Claflin University)

2010's winner:

2009's winner:

2008's winner:

2007's winner:

2006's winner:

  • Stefan Murphy (attended USC Upstate)

2005's winner:

  • John Odell Fersguson (attended Furman University)

2004's winner:

  • Herbert Blassengale, IV (attended Clemson University)

2003's winner:

  • Brittany Shell (attended Columbia College)

In 2003 GGL switched to one $3,000 Scholarship ($750 for 4 years). Before that year, we offer three scholarships of $1,000 to local high school students.

2002's winners were as follows:

  • Ashley Sanders, University of South Carolina
  • Ingrid Childs, Spellman College
  • Behoy Markos, Clemson University

2001's winners were as follows:

  • Salanda D. Brown, University of South Carolina
  • Samuel S. Brown, University of South Carolina
  • Daniel D. Brown, Clemson University


Our slogan is still, "First of All, Servants of All, We Shall Transcend All."